Gluten free alternatives:
- Besan (Chickpeas)
- Buckwheat (Soba)
WHAT DOES GLUTEN FREE MEAN?
A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale. Gluten is also used as a food additive in the form of a flavouring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often hidden under "maltodextrine", "dextrine", and "dextrose".
A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease, the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis, and wheat allergy.
Additionally, a gluten-free diet may exclude oats, however medical practitioners are divided on whether oats are an allergen to celiac disease sufferers or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other allergens.